an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Fifty

Growing up, at my elementary school playground, where the basketball court was, there were 50 states painted on the ground. Being the unsufferable brainiac I was, I spent recess jumping from state to state naming each one. And then doing it again, naming the capitals.

I always thought it was just my school that had this, but today I walked through a school playground I normally just walk by and noticed this wonderful reminder of home. Anybody else in the States have this on their playground? Or in other countries is this ever done (of your country, of course)?

Blippers, today has been odd. Very, very odd. I have odd days pretty often, but the most interesting ones are when something unexpected happens. Today was an unexpected kind of day. Still trying to figure it out.

All fifty are in here. To the left of Hawaii is the edge of Alaska. In US maps, they are typically pictured both in the bottom left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.