420

I feel sorry for the poor tourist who stumbled into this event outside the art gallery.

To quote Wikipedia.

"420, 4:20 or 4/20 (pronounced four-twenty) refers to consumption of cannabis and, by extension, a way to identify oneself with cannabis subculture. The notable day for these is April 20"

"April 20 has evolved into a counterculture holiday, where people gather to celebrate and consume cannabis."

"On April 20, 2009, an estimated nearly 10,000 people gathered around the Vancouver Art Gallery to celebrate "420". The police did not attempt to make arrests. This event has taken place in Vancouver annually for many years, and the police are generally tolerant of all marijuana use on April 20, and most other days."

I went to take a photo on my way to work, but that was too early for the pot smokers. I tried to take a photo on my way home from work, but by that point all the pot smokers had the munchies and had left.

So I am relying on Emma's photo.

Both of us were slightly bewildered by this event. Neither of us took part. In fact the only thing Emma consumed too much of today was chocolate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.