The way I see it.

By christinePears

Snipe

Back in Caithness. Went over to St John's Pool to show my son the bird hide but we were very disappointed to discover that it was temporarily closed for maintenance. We decided to carry on to Dunnett head and were hoping to catch sight of the red throated divers which had returned to the loch were they habitually nest. We saw a diver on a neighbouring loch and I took lots of close up pictures and it was only when I got them up on the screen that we confirmed that we had seen the red throated diver!

Spoiled for blip choice tonight! As we were driving home my son spotted this snipe at the side of the road. We backed up and got some photos out of the car window. As my son got out to find out if it had been injured it swiftly flew away! Don't know if I will ever get this close to a snipe again so I had to post this in my journal instead of the rarer red throated diver.

Heatwave over and normal weather conditions today - a bit of sun, a bit of rain and a bit of wind

Red Throated Diver Has been added to my blipfolio

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.