PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

The Forbidden Tor

This is a blip of Vixen Tor on Dartmoor. I am sorry it is not very sharp, but that is for 2 reasons, neither of which are related to my continued promise to only use the manual settings on my camera!

Reason 1
It is very hazy on Dartmoor. My Nan reckons they have had this for weeks, and it is only now that it has reached London it has been pronounced smog and a public health hazard!

Reason 2
Vixen Tot has been enclosed and fenced since 2003 by the new land owner. She claims that her insurance company advised her to close it, because if anyone hurt themselves she would be liable. Thus closing a part of the moor which had open access for hundreds of years, and was a haven for mountaineers. The rambling association, British Moutaineering Club and the National Parks authority have taken the mad bint to court; but the most recent public inquiry last December was cancelled because of the snow and the tor remains closed - hence I could not get as close as I wished.

I had also blipped some some unsatisfactory shots of Dartmoor ponies; they were proving awkward and shy in front of the camera, and their poses seemed forced.... however Tracey told me whilst I was attempting unsuccessfully to chivvy my pony of choice (come on love, chin down a bit, look at the lens etc) the pony behind me was rolling around having a dust bath waving her legs in the air, and another was suckling her foal. DOH!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.