Picture Consequences

By consequences

A week in the life of Adam Cotter: Tuesday

Off to Nick and Sarah's for lunch.

It's a bit weird getting to know them again, but it's a good kind of weird.

Sarah was brilliant when I was in the hospital getting my head checked out. Though she didn't stop Margaret giving me that clip round the ear, I couldn't help noticing.

It probably goes without saying, but being shot in the leg didn't trouble Margaret much, if at all. "Just a flesh wound," she'd said, almost sounding disappointed.

Anyway, while I was lying in my bed, Sarah brings Nick in. Talk about awkward.

Neither of us says much apart from hello, until Sarah threatens to bang our heads together unless we talk about why we haven't spoken for so long.

Which, seeing as I was in for a head injury, is pretty funny when you think about it.

So we did talk. All three of us. And it was a funny thing, but all those things I'd never said - well, it seemed like they didn't add up to much, when they were spoken out loud.

And it felt like we could all be mates again.

Which feels pretty good.



Part Three begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.