I am rosco

By iamrosco

On the move

Quick hop down to London and back today, lots of movement - taxi, aeroplanes, trains, tubes, buses, but sadly no nautical themed travel.

Timings started out well, with an on time flight and the prompt (but expensive) Heathrow Express going smoothly. Then there was the tube - red lights in tunnels, change trains at stations (still on the same line), and that was just the start of it as I would find out later on. Eventually* got into Liverpool St and headed off on foot to enjoy the sunny 18 degrees that the Met Office app had informed me of the previous night.

Bl**dy Met Office, and their bl**dy app. How's about you focus you attention on better forecasting, rather than spending time and resource on an app to spread your inaccuracies further and more easily.

After getting the reason for my visit out of the way, I was treated to a shot of that X100 I've been hearing about. Oh boy, that is one fine camera. Good shout on heading over to the Jessops/Jacobs corner at New Oxford St for a nosey. Then it was back on to the tube for the return leg of my visit.

Line delays and disruptions. Accidents on the line. Not good news. Luckily for me, I was ok for time and the sun had decided to come out and warm the place up. I hope that the folk involved in the accidents had some fortune of their own. Instead, I returned to the surface and walked over to Seven Dials and picked up a prize for completing a marathon on Nike+. I actually did nearer three in the allotted time, but who's counting.** Still, i got some running stuff for free and, most excitingly, some Super Beans. They would seem to be normal Jelly Belly beans, but even more expensive no doubt and are marketed at giving you a boost before and during your workout. In a clever move, you are told you need to consume 1 packet half an hour before you start, then another during. Two packets for each workout, there's some good profit in that I'm sure. I think I'll stick with water.

On the way back into town after a delayed return flight, the sunny Edinburgh evening and masses of folk still on the meadows told me that I had missed a decent day here for a mediocre one (at best) down south. Oh well.



* if it wasn't for that lounge at T5, I would be flying into City every time. Land, disembark and straight on to the DLR - that's the way forward

** before you ask, they were cumulative marathons, not all at once

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.