I am rosco

By iamrosco

On your marks

After a lazy day in the pub yesterday, I opted for a lazy day in the darkroom today. So as not to appear too lazy, I set up two enlargers - one for 35mm and one for 120mm - to do simul-printing. It helped that there was no one else using the communal room, I was afforded all the space and enlargers I needed, but mainly so that nobody was there to witness me making a t*t of myself as I attempted to figure out exposures and timings for two prints and not get them mixed up. Let's leave it there and just say that it mostly went ok.

Just ok this time I'm afraid to report. It was a tougher slog than last weekend, and I really wasn't happy with the tones I was getting out of the shots. Maybe I was just fed up with the shots I was working on*, I need to get out and get some more rolls shot and developed. First I need to find interesting things to shoot - that's the real issue.

It's always weird trying to get a shot for Blip after spending a lot of time trying (unsuccessfully) to get a shot in the darkroom. Maybe after a better day int he darkroom it'd be a breeze to get a shot I was happy with for here. I may never know.

I must thank Evan at Stills for giving me a quick rundown of dodging and burning - it was a challenge, but good fun to be trying new things. I'm sure this will come in very handy in the future when trying to perfect my prints.

Off to London tomorrow, nothing better than the phone camera for that trip unfortunately. Got to pack light as it's just a day trip and I don't think I can get away with turning up at meetings with a camera bag too...



* on second thoughts, I was probably just bummed by them as they were taken this time last year in New York - ahhh, good fun once we got past that damn ash cloud

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.