Pesky Vine

This is the flower & tendrils of the Banana Passion Vine.

It is a large vigorous, scrambling, evergreen climbing vine with clinging tendrils, capable of climbing to 10 metres high or higher. The flowers are pink and up to 7 centimetres in diameter. It is a real problem in the Marlorough Sounds and Golden Bay area's, the vine smothers native trees and shrubs; it can topple shallowrooted trees and its dense vegetation prevents natural regeneration.

And bugger it, it is along the road from out home on a neighours property - I think we will tell them to get rid of it.

And to think it produces such a pretty flower.....and fruit which is not eatable.

Onto other things, you know how smug I have been over the last three days about our weather, my blips showed this, well the weather has turned to custard today and given us a overcast bleak and totally miserable day.

I have been sorting photo's and pottering about, did some outdoor chores earlier on, Doug boiled up quinces for jelly and I will tackle the ironing shortly (why do I always leave this for a Sunday night) WHY!!??

Doug much better today and I think will be going back to work tomorrow, yay!!

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.