secret garden

By freespiral

Little owl, big eyes

Up horrendously early, though the birds were twittering madly - grey, damp and windy, and suddenly very cold. The walking bus was in fine form nonetheless and we travelled at a brisk pace to school. Odd how all the children seemed delighted to be back and the staff were wrecked!

I visited a friend this afternoon who has just opened a garden centre. She's a Dutchwoman who moved here about 5 years ago and finding time on her hands looked for a hobby - she discovered gardening! Not just pootling about but propagating and nurturing and learning. She was amazed to find she has a talent for it and now has turned her passion into a little business. I got a very good haul!

She's also mad about owls and has about 8 owls in large aviaries in her garden. They are all very exotic and apart from the barn owl, not indigenous. I find this rather uncomfortable. They are magnificent birds but just sitting there. This was a little owl, I'm not sure what kind, his expression seems to sum things up. I'm not trying to be arty with the blurred edges - that's his bars.
Made me a bit sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.