tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Babies on (the) Kennet

Four coot chicks struggle against the current on the river that flows through Reading, Berkshire. The mother coot had gone way ahead but came back to make sure the babies were managing, or maybe to scold them being dilatory.

I'm in Reading because my elder son (not the one I blipped two days ago) went head over handlebars yesterday - without a bike helmet - and gave himself a real shiner of a black eye. I spent over 4 hours with him waiting in a hospital corridor before an X-ray revealed he'd fractured his skull and eye socket too. In consequence he was admitted to an orthopaedic ward where he'll remain until the neurologists have reviewed his next CT scan. Fortunately he's in good spirits except for a headache and the prospect of having to postpone his chemistry finals that he'd prepared so hard for and only just begun.

The name of my son's ward is Kennet.

In an oblique way this blip represents my submission for this week's theme 'Mother'. Parenthood is a job for life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.