Every Little Step

By moonfairy

My Dad.

Today would've been my Dad's 90th birthday.

But my Dad died when he was 56.

At the time it was the most devastating thing that had ever happened to me.

We only had 8 weeks, from diagnosis to the day he died.

I was sad not only for myself, but for my poor mother all her dreams and plans for their retirement were gone. And not only had she lost her husband she also lost her home, as the house they lived in went with my father's job.

My Dad was a quiet, gentle man, who's life had been ruined by the war. In more ways than one. For the lung cancer that killed him had nothing to do with smoking, but to the fact that he went into Nagasaki not long after the atom bomb was dropped.

In my blip the main picture is my Dad at 14, the other is of him at 16. The ring is my Dad's signet ring which he wore as a wedding ring.

Today I was really shocked to read of Amalarian's death, it was all so sudden, I was only admiring her photos the other day. Life is very fragile indeed




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.