Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Popcorn Party

Oooo ooooo and oooo the sun was out today and it was wonderful! And even more wonderful??? A surprise popcorn party with one of my favorite people on the planet.

Today we stopped by one of our local grade schools. I took the kids with me so that I could show them around the school. It is a school that I previously taught at and I was looking forward to returning and saying hello to old friends.

Our son was a bit intimidated when we walked into the school. He was very quiet and observant. After chit chatting with the secretary and giving her a big hug, we walked down the hall to peek into 'my most favorite person on the planet's' classroom. And there she was reading to her class.

I stood for a couple of seconds waiting for her to see me. I knew what her reaction would be. And soon enough she looked at me and I waited for the recognition and then bam, she nearly dropped the book and broke into a huge smile. My mentor teacher. Over ten years ago, she was my mentor teacher and I couldn't have dreamt of having a more loving, caring and dedicated teacher to work closely with and learn from.

She waved us in and introduced us to her class. She told her kids that she knew she loved me the first day she met me. If you knew her, you would totally be able to hear her saying that. Her kids loved the story and loved that I brought my two little ones in to visit. At this point my son was wide eyed and very observant. Kids were asking him to sit next to them. They were bringing over chairs. Others were hugging my daughter. It was adorable. My favorite person on the planet called her kids, "The honey pot class". And they all smiled bright at the mention of their nickname.

So the next thing we knew, we were invited for the showing of 'Charlotte's Web'. The whole class snacked on popcorn and made my kids feel very comfortable being there. And there they were, my sweetheart kids sitting right in the middle of carpet time surrounded by 25 first graders eating popcorn with them and watching a movie. It is a day that my son will remember for a very long time. We were even sent home with flash card sight words and a brand new picture book to borrow. Talk about someone who has the gift of making others feel so loved, welcomed and appreciated. This favorite gal of mine will always be that person to me. She was at my wedding, baby shower and her room was always the first classroom that I visited first thing in the morning when we ended up teaching in the same school together. I did not have my camera today or she would have been my blip.

So today's blip is a bit of a self portrait and I know the neighbors were loving watching me take a dozen photos of myself in the driveway today. Actually, after all this time, I don't think my camera antics even phase them anymore. And now I have to say this: I am beat. It's been a long and busy week. Time to go kick my feet up.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.