horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

That's a Beautiful Bike

There are certain things you can say to a cyclist to make his day.

"Ooh, your thighs are nice"
"Crikey you're quick!"
"That's a beautiful bike"

It was the last of these things I was told today as the bike was briefly parked up in Castle Street after work (not, incidentally, where the picture was then taken). In fact the chap was so insistent he said it twice. With a big smile on his face. Putting his phone away after taking a photo of it.

Which was nice.

After having to postpone the Figgy Blipmeet till next Tuesday because of work stuff I actually had the late meeting moved to tomorrow morning. 8.30am to be precise. Pah. So I did get a quick wander in after dinner, giving me Buggy Spuggy and Snakey Heron - but the little moment of flattery gave me a smile today, and I've got plans for the weekend that will, if they come to fruition, bring pictures of Red Squirrels and Seals, so best to take a step back from wildlife for a mo...

At work some adverts to check over for legal compliance brought home how awful importing 'tone of voice' into selling text can be. "Now that you've reached the ripe old age that you can get over 50s insurance" sounds suspiciously to me like "You're ancient pal, and you might die soon y'know" which doesn't sound a great selling point... And always worrying when people, whose raison d'être is to write things for a living, find grammar such an inconvenience. Give it ten years and financial services adverts will go something like, "wnt 2 invst n get $$$ txt me."

p.s. my year ago blip has one of my favourite rants, being almost literally about absolutely nothing that can actually genuinely be ranted about...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.