horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Pip

A first attempt at some night bat photography. Completely unplanned, but I was dropping people off after a (sober) pub quiz and knew that nearby, on the Water of Leith, there would be the bats, and possibly an otter (still no joy there).

These are Pipistrelles I think, and I adopted a technique of manually focussing on a bit of reed or whatever, then snapping away pointing the camera in the vague direction of any bats roughly that sort of distance away. No point in looking through the viewfinder at something that quick in that little light. But hey, it worked part of the time. This is a crop, so shows up all the lovely noise of a 2000 ISO - this is the sort of range it was cropped from (and I may yet switch to that image...).

I'm going to have to go back to try again now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.