horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Scrawny

This would explain why the local Vixen is looking a bit weary and thin, and is intent on our chickens (two close calls in the last few weeks). The cubs are clearly growing, but this one certainly didn't look too healthy, and was having trouble with crossing the road. It's a main road with a 20mph limit (that no-one ever sticks to) but with me there the cars were slowing to see what the loon with the big camera was doing, and then saw the fox and slowed further (often with kids in the back shouting excitedly at the driving parent). In the end it crossed in front of a Ka, which stopped to let it go.

At least, I 'think' it's a cub and not the Vixen - seemed too small to be an adult... But, as pointed out by Mel, the teats seem quite prominent.

Hard not to feel sorry for them when they look in as bad shape... Too damned soft for my own good. They're still not getting to eat the chooks though.

This saved a dull blip of the back of the house, or Isla's ears sticking up out of the grass in the back garden (which was then cut - the grass, not her ears). I'd gone for a brief wander to the Figgy (where I found the Little Grebes seem to have moved house to the central island) and found the Coot chicks are growing fast (when you consider this blip two and a half weeks ago).

Anyway, today has been a good day for four reasons....

1. The weekly one-to-one with my boss brought about some very positive feedback on how things are going; how I'm settling in; and the quality of my work.

2. New lens arrived - a 'do-anything' job to replace the slightly damaged 18-55 kit lens, and totally knackered 50-200 - a lovely range of 18-200 is now mine without having to swap lenses.

3. Bank balance, 3 days before payday, reveals I have a smidgen of my redundancy money left.

4. I've got another wedding gig getting lined up (suggested by the same friend as got me this one in September last year - this time it's a civil ceremony in Edinburgh). They're terrifying, but fun.

AND it's pub quiz night tomorrow.

Even MORE fox blips on top of this, and the linked Vixen:
In the Snow
At the back door
Vulpes

Yip. We see the foxes pretty damned regularly round these here parts...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.