Helter-skelter

By Juli

Here comes Trouble!

It felt like I was having a bit of a 'busman's holiday' this morning as I had to go to Wakehurst to pick up my mother-in-law's birthday present. I don't know what you'd call it - it's a kind of metal sculpture for the garden that moves about in the wind.

Anyway, right opposite where the sculptures are is a lovely area with trees that is a sea of snowdrops, cyclamen and fungi at various points in the year. It's also home to this elusive chappie, who I've been trying to photograph for months without success. I couldn't believe it today - for the first time he was just waiting on the tree behind me and graciously posed for ages! Maybe it's something he only does at weekends?

The lady who looks after this area said his name is 'Trouble', someone else referred to him as a 'disease-ridden American imposter' and a third called him a 'tree rat'. All true, no doubt, but poor thing - I think maybe I'm his only friend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.