Photofabulous!!

By Ilaria

Keswick Church Interior....

Well....weather actually almost defies description today!!! Torrential rain and very high wind gusts!! Arghhh...this is supposed to be my 'summer' holiday!!!

I thought the Lakes had some land too, not JUST water!!! Appears I'm in Lake and Puddle District!! Lol!! And it's sometimes hard to tell the difference!! :-))

To beat the disappointment of little pleasurable walking, I have slowly but surely started to learn about photography and my own camera!! Had brought a photograhy book with the camera instruction manual in case the weather was ever miserable!!!! Lol!!! Reading it everyday now!!!!!!!!!!

Due to it being just TOO wet for outdoor shots, I thought I'd blip this little local church. I really love it's interior stonework and wood ceiling! Simple and incredibly beautiful. My camera is not the best in low light, and I didn't want to use flash, so detail isn't as great as I'd have liked. I liked the shadows cast from the pews in this shot too!!




A bit history of the church....

Called Our Lady of the Lakes..

The church is built in the Italian style, and constructed with hammer dressed Threlkeld Granite (whatever that means!!!). This quarry is now 'no more'. The guide reckoned it was also the last building built in Keswick using this stone. There is a tower with a copper roof, now weathered green. The ceiling is made from Cedar wood...




Had really been hoping to do a bit of commenting today, as I'm in a free wifi cafe in Keswick...but blip would not load initially for some reason!! Can't stay here for ever!! :-(( And netbook and iphone battery now loosing life!!!
Guess I'm meant to take this break!! Moving to Buttermere today, and no computer there at all, and no reception...so it's a definate BYE from this point on...

Will miss you all...will try and blip a few midweek from the library or something, then early next week!!
Take care...


Ps....Daisy/insect shot hit the spotlight....Thank you so much!! :-))



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.