Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 6 - The Hub

This is the home of the Edinburgh International Festival. Its Gothic spire is the highest point in central Edinburgh. The building was constructed between 1842 and 1845. It was built for the Church of Scotland both as a parish church and as a purpose-built General Assembly Hall. Known as the Highland Tolbooth St. John's Church, it used to offer services in Gaelic. it was closed in 1979 and it was virtually unused until it opened as "The Hub". The Hub was occasionally used for meetings of the Scottish Parliament before the completion of the new Scottish Parliament building.

I'm back! I've had to backblip this because this is the day when my computer hard drive decided to crash. I was happy because everything was starting to go back to normal in my life and then this happened!!! Never mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.