Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 5 - The Heart of Midlothian

The Heart of midlothian is this heart shaped mosaic you can see on the pavement. You can find it just outside St. Giles Cathedral. This is where the 15th century Old Tolbooth used to be, a medieval building that served as administrative centre of the town, prison and place of public execution and torture for criminals and enemies of the state, which was demolished in 1817. The heart marks its doorway: the point of public execution.

You will see people spitting on the heart. It is said that gives you luck; however, the origin of this spitting was to show historic disdain for the former prison. There is a legend that says that if you spit on the heart, you're destined to return to Edinburgh one day.

I had a bit of a busy day at work today, so I'm feeling a bit tired. Still some cleaning to do in the flat although I managed to do most of it yesterday. It all be soon back to normal! :)

On the bike front, I still haven't made my debut. I have my helmet, chain lock, and I'm just looking to get some mudguards and lights. I just want my first day to be a sunny day. It might not happen, wish me luck! I live in Scotland! Hahaha!

Thanks very much for your comments and stars! I hope you all had a great day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.