As seen by me...

By GrantR

Wavemageddon

Ok, so the big story in Edinburgh tonight, and indeed most of central Scotland, is the wind. So, what do we get with big wind? Big waves! Had originally headed into Princes Street Gardens after work but the nanny council decided that we're all too stupid to be allowed near a tree if it's windy and shut the gardens. Notice the Grassmarket which is lined by trees was still ok though? Arseholes.

Anyway, rain finally broke around half 7 so headed quickly down to South Queensferry. The wind was still blowing a gale so no long exposure stuff, but then again, that would have flattened the waves and that was what I was here for. 1s exposures or under were the order of the day. No way was I getting close to that water so off came the Sigma 10-20 and on went the Nikon 18-70 to give me a bit of zoom to play with. Got some shelter from the wall on the Hawes Pier so wasn't that hard to get loads of shots rattled off.

From the stacks I took, this one I think shows the waves off best, converted to HDR to give it a bit more impact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.