Leeuwarden - Bike City

Today is my 500th blip. All day I wondered what to put up. Finally I decided this was my best choice. It is the most representative of a day spent exploring a new place with old friends. I am happy to have posted 500 blips in 501 days. I missed a day soon after I started blipping but have not missed one since.

Ian, Arvin and I spent the afternoon in Leeuwarden. We were sight-seeing and shopping. It was a quiet day. As we walked, one thing that really impressed me was the huge amount of bicycles here. Ian and Jerien don't have a car, just a camper that they use for travel. For all their regular communting and travel they use bikes. They are not unique. Many other people in Friesland do the same thing. So there are bikes everywhere. Here on the main street in Leeuwarden there are bike racks all along both sides of the canal. I took this photo with my super wide angle lens. To be honest I didn't really notice the bright pink bike until I post processed the photo.

This evening we met Ian and Jerien's daughter and her boyfriend. We had dinner and talked and laughed together. It was a lovely evening.

Thanks to all of you who have been following my journal these 500 days. Thanks for all your comments and for your amazing journals that give me so much to think about and enjoy. Thanks also to the Blipfoto team for making it all possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.