Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Head and Shoulders Above The Rest

After 27 millions hours of house painting today, we went to THE BEST tea room, that's not THE best or the BEST but THE BEST, I have never been anywhere like it before. It was like an Aladdin's Cave of wonders and delights.


I have heard about this tea room for a couple of years but never been in until today. It's called Interlude, it's a 1920's tea room. AND it's virtually on my door step. How have I not taken high tea * here before!!??

It felt like I was walking into a cross between a giant dolls house and the set of a Miss Marple. The woman that owns it is dressed up all posh and proper ( not a sight you see much in Shipley ) and she brought the menus that were a couple of pages glued in the front of old war books or glamour books ( Andy Cabb, after the paradise comment, I need to clarify that I mean 1920s/30s style glamour ) ,art deco pamphlets were scattered on the tables and bowler hats and feathers were strewn across chairs and beams. Fab Fab Fab

After ringing the glass bell for service we had hot chocolate, coffee and a selection of cakes on a glass cake stand.

Mindful of my strict training regime, I only had half my scone and the waitress wrapped it up in a brown paper bag with a little postcard and some sweets to take home!!

Afterwards the girls had a little look at the old dolls house and prams whilst I browsed the vintage dresses.

It was a step back in time.

I will take some better shots of the tables next time I am in, this shot is the mannequin that sees you on your way as you leave.

Loved it. Spooky and David Lynchy but beautiful. Once I has seen it though, all I could think of was this band ul.

Thank god it didn't !!!

Happy Thursday.

Run time and Question Time tonight, will catch up on comments post run otherwise I will never go

xx
* ps am slightly worried that I have utilised the phrase " high tea". I may have to go and have a bottle of Newcastle Brown to even things up a bit for my public image!!













Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.