Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

The Wedding Day

Let me set the scene for the morning......

8 am.

Me LOVING the fact that I can sleep in and move at my own pace and do absolutely whatever I want to do today (until 6pm when the wedding starts).

So here is how 8am looked today:

Swoosh the curtains fly back
My sister: Wow, what a gorgeous day, let's go on a walk!
My Mom: Oooh yes, a walk just sounds wonderful.


Me: (Squinting) What time is it?
My Mom: Oh honey it is 8 o'clock in the morning.
Me: And why are we all up right now?
My sister: We are going to take a walk, wanna come?
Me: No thanks.
My Mom: What???? You don't want to get up for a little exercise.
Me: No thanks, I'd rather lay here fat and happy.

(The silence was priceless and I was quietly laughing to myself)
My Mom: Fat and what???
My sister: She said 'Fat and Happy' Mom.
My Mom: Oh....well.....okay.
Me: Nite Nite and enjoy your walk!


An hour later I was down at the pool. The ladies were back from their beautiful walk and I already had a dip in before breakfast. So that's my meaning of fat and happy. Moving at a nice and slow lazy pace with a great big smile on my face! So that became another quote of the weekend as well.

At breakfast we met up with our group at the same table that we all had dinner at together last night. Same waiter even. It was lovely and so very peaceful. I think one of the most pleasant surprises of the entire trip has been my reconnection with my middle school PE teacher. She co-taught PE with the father of the bride and they worked their entire 30 year career together. I obviously enjoyed her as a kid but completely adore her as an adult. She and her family have always been friends with our family but it is different when you can make a connection with people later on in life. And let me tell you this, she is a kick! Funny and sassy. We got along really well on this trip. I told her that later in the day and a corona or two later, I would demonstrate the 'pre-PE warmup stretches' that she made us do every single day. She was quite amused by that. I didn't actually do it but the idea of it was very funny. She had to deal with us for 6th, 7th and 8th grade. But she said that we were good kids and that she was really enjoying seeing who we have become and what we have done with our lives.

Pool party. Today was the big pool lounge day. If you weren't involved in the wedding, then you got to lounge and hang in the pool without a care in the world. So that's what we did. There were so many people to talk to today. Everyone was floating. I may have been in the pool for like three straight hours today. Strengthening connections. That is what today was all about.

And then the wedding started at about 6pm. I unpacked ultra fancy camera and took it out to play this evening. I got a few nice photos of the ceremony. I took some snaps from my seat only as I didn't want to get in the way of the pro photographers at all. But I payed close attention to their camera angles. The perspectives that they were going after. The types of lens they were using. Their camera bodies were the Cannon 5D mark II. And it was an outdoor wedding so I know that their photos are going to be beautiful with the lake that was the backdrop to the 'I do's'.

I had fun taking pics of the family friends after the ceremony during the happy hour pre-reception. The photographers were off taking pictures of the bride and groom so I got some practice during this time. Reception was really nice and the band was amazing. It was an 8 piece band that ended the night singing everything from the 'Black Eyed Peas' to 'Lady Gaga'. Awesome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.