Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Wedding Weekend

I'm normally not a 'jet setter' type of girl who flies in and out of Vegas twice in a month......but I guess this month, I am exactly that person.

Back to Vegas!

This weekend I traveled to Vegas to meet up with my parents, my sister and MANY family friends who I have known since I was a little girl. People who in a way, helped raise me in the fact that many were old school teachers, coaches, and neighborhood family friends. My relationship with each of them is special and unique and this weekend, I get to bond with them as an adult instead of a young kid. Let the chit chatting begin!

Started this morning boarding on a quick flight and I had the luxury of being able to read my book the entire way. I actually pushed the limits with this considering I suffered a pretty decent amount of motion sickness by the time we landed. Why do I continue to do this to myself? I know this about me! Oh well I had a hour to kill once I got there so I was able to walk it off a bit. By the time I met up with my family, I was good to go.

We hoped a shuttle and began the 30 minute drive to the resort where we are staying and where the wedding is taking place. The good times were already rolling. When have I had a whole weekend with my sister with no other responsibilities?! Not in a forever amount of time. We were full of anticipation and excitement and yes, the bantering (gentle funny bantering) was already going strong. That is the nice thing about my family, we can get a laugh at the other's expense pretty much every single time. Like I said, funny bantering. I love it!

When we got to the resort, we headed straight for the pool before even taking our luggage up to the room. All of our people were waiting there for us. It was like this huge pool party with forty or so people who have always meant a great deal to me. The Pina's were flowing. It was hot. Several cabanas were reserved already. Oh it was like a little slice of heaven. I saw some friends there that I haven't seen for probably 20 years. Friends who were in high school when we were still young enough to need them as babysitters. Crazy re-meeting them all grown up. Awesome crazy!

This whole day was just really exciting. It was a huge family friend reunion. And the hit of the day of when I personally served my sister and three other friends wine spritzers. They were totally impressed. I had the white wine chilled but nothing to serve it in. So I got creative. Remember, we were with family so I snagged some empty Pina Colada cups (complete with Pineapple toppers) from the neighboring Cabana and went to work. Minutes later I walked down to the pool with four glasses of white wine with fruit toppers. The look of shock and total amazement on the these girls faces was PRICELESS! "How did you do that?" "These look so fancy" and on and on. But the MOST PRICELESS look on their faces was when they realized that their glasses and fruit had been recycled from our friend's cabana next door. Oooooh I laughed and laughed so hard. I was branded, "The Green Environmentalist" of the trip. Recycled drink? Yes, I can make one for you in a flash. And it must not have bothered the girls too much because those cups were drained within the half an hour. I had to tell this story pretty much for my own benefit because the whole thing still makes me laugh so hard and I don't want to ever forget it.

Day 1: Off to a fantastic start!!!! Oh and as for the blip.....I was so busy chit chatting all day long, I didn't think about my camera once. It dawned on me at about 10:30pm that I hadn't even thought of a blip. At this point, it was dark outside and nothing in the hotel room was screaming to be blipped. So the self-portrait in the mirror was taken in a pinch. And then edited like crazy to give it some 'abstract eye' interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.