Northern Exposure

By Northern

Palace road

Had to pick Campbell and his pals up from Scouts this evening. As I had no blip I took my camera with me intending to stop on the way to Kirkwall but everything was flat grey clouds and flat grey seas. Nothing grabbed my attention.

I thought I might have time for a wee blip trawl in town but the light was fading, the rain was drizzling and I didn't really have time. So I just stopped on the way down Palace Road and stuck the camera out of the windscreen.

I've always loved this road. On the right is St Magnus Cathedral and to the left the Bishops palace (with the flag) and beside it to the left but out of shot is the Earl's Palace. It's not hard to to get a feel for the turbulent history of the town. It may be small but it's got enough murder, intrigue, treason, and mayhem to fill several hollywood blockbusters.

As for ghosts, well there's a fair number of them. One, a lone piper is supposed to be seen wandering up and down this exact stretch of road on cold, damp, dark nights....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.