in retrospect

I didn't notice the bar tape hanging off this until I looked at the photo, as I was concentrating on the wee light and the saddle/lever behind and in front of it when I was taking it. A bit like the aphid on 07/07/2007 which I didn't notice on the bit of string until processing.

When my saddlebag started to detach itself over the winter I had to get a new fixing-fitment thing for it. When it started to detach from the thing which the fixing bracket fitted to I removed the remaining intact rivet and replaced all three with nuts, bolts and washers. When one end of the zip leapt off a few weeks ago I re-threaded it and added a safety-pin as a limiter. A safety-pin doesn't work on the other end, which requires it to be not pulled quite tight shut and watched carefully in case it decides to open whilst in motion. If I got a replacement of the exact same bag I'd be compelled to replace the rivets with bolts straight away, but if I can't fix the zip I was so unimpressed with the other available items that an exact-like-for-like replacement would be the thing I would choose, seeing as no other product seems to consider that someone might like to use it to store a coiled-up cable lock and padlock, which requires a certain largeness of opening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.