Club 107

By club107

I have bitten off way more than I can chew

Today was like a never ending scene in a bad film. To do justice to it would require more time and effort than I have time or energy to give. So the abridged version goes a little something like this.

In fact today started late last night, several whiskies later after a match of football watched with a very good friend, I was wondering to myself, at around 12:30 am how today was oging to pan out. I had a pretty bad feeling about it.

Roughly six hours later, that feeling came to fruition as for the second time in a week, I stood over a daughter being sick. Unfortunately this always has a bit of a negative effect on my stomach. Thankfully it didn't have half the effect as it did last week, wherein my stomach felt sore and on the borderline of hell for a couple of days.

There were plans for today, plans I was touching wood about this morning, but given this sickness, not to mention the running saga of #1 son's runs, it would have been a very brave father convincing everyone to drive for 3 hours. I'm very sorry the Beauty is Truth/Shameless crew, I know you are very understanding but I was well gutted, especially as I know the exhibition finishes very soon.

So here we have some of the hits and misses of the day

- eldest daughter lying in the bathroom waiting patiently for her stomach upset to move
- #1 son, requiring a change of clothes after another bout of illness
- daughter #2 trying to improve morale of everyone
- a sudden realisation that eldest will not be at school tomorrow and therefore replanning of transport is required, I bus, they drive (hopefully)
- a promise to go to see art and meet people who I have been looking forward to meeting for months
- managing to get the dvd player to work without a constant audio buzz
- a promise to contact friends for a virtual aperitif this weekend, failed AGAIN
- realising that #1son is sitting on the dining table while mowing the lawn
- realising that the 'late in the day' but kind of essential weekly shop would be cut short due to 'store closing in 10 minutes, please make your way to the checkouts please'
- #1son rejecting pasta with aubergines and tomatoes
- dispensing with about 30 dvds for charity shops

to name, but a few

Totally shattered. Preparing for the arrival of Madame's sister, partner and child late Friday. It shall be a long week.

Oh and when will this wind abate.

14°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.