Mice Naps

By kimsim

Light At The End Of The Tunnel

This week's been a little shady so far. Things may or may not get better over the next few weeks, will just have to wait and see.

But amongst all this there have been some sweet moments...

Yesterday was grrrrrr...

...then something happened.

Decided to go out for a chipper for tea, was home late, everything was sh!t, so hopped in the car to get some fatty goodness. A white pudding supper was the food of choice.

On my return, still a bit scunnered, I couldn't find a parking space, at least not an easy one. Wasn't in the mood for conducting my expert tiny-space-parking.

Drove past a wee space, went round the block, saw another, went to turn; someone was trying to park in it :( Waited behind them, however they were obviously feeling the same as me and couldn't be arsed with it.

Carried on, round the roundabout again & slowed opposite the parking space... would I fit? Well, Jimmy the Council Roads Services Man thought I would!

Had noticed him standing by the hedge outside my building, watching all this non-parking nonsense.

He gestured to me and spoke, wound down my window and he said I should fit and he would guide me. Excellent :)

Meanwhile the driver in front had stopped to try and park in a space opposite.

Went to turn and here was Jimmy helping the woman in the other car get into her space and waiting to help me get into mine.

Sure enough he guided me in. Then said he was proud of me :)

I don't know why Jimmy was hanging around outside my house, beside a tiny parking space, or why his job tonight entailed sticking a '7' on my street light, but I do know he brought some real cheer to my otherwise grumpy coupon.

So thank you Jimmy :)

And thank you Gary the Taxi Driver, for saying it was nice to chat to me and for being so appreciative of my help. Only two week's on the job and already one of the best :)

And thank you Random Man, for giving me a huge smile and big thumbs up of encouragement as I passed you on one of my training runs :)

It's all the wee moments like this that make life that little bit better, that put a smile on your face and give you faith in human nature.

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.