Journey Through Time

By Sue

Wild Male Turkey

Okay, this isn't that wonderful of a picture, I know...but because I was thrilled to be able to capture this guy's image, you get to see it. Wild turkeys wander through my families property in Corvallis and this fellow was showing off for a couple of hens, who were completely ignoring him. He would do his gobble thing and fluff himself up to look handsome and the hens just did their own thing. On Saturday two hens came in and one had about 7 little chicks with her. They were hidden quite well in their grass that needed mowing and it was quite comical to see these little chicks scurry after mom, rustling the grass as they went. I took a few photos as quick as I could but they were too far away to get a good image of them. This fella and some hens showed up, but no babies. I discovered that turkeys can cover quite a bit of ground when you are trying to find your camera, get to a window, check the setting and take the picture.

I back blipped:
Wild Flower
Prom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.