Rich Dyson

By EdinImage

New Arrival, New Dilema

I ordered this bottle of whisky last Thursday and it was delivered today, I'm sure many of you are thinking either a) I don't like whisky not interested or b) get into the bottle and taste it - the problem I have is whether to be in business head mode or extravagance mood.

For those not au fait with the Scotch Malt Whisky Society, each month on the frist Friday they launch what is called the out-turn, that is the new casks the society has bought and made available to sale. Members get the opportunity of jumping the queue a day or so before the first Friday.

Last Thursday, this whisky was launched with write up from the society gushing about how amazing this whisky was and that the panel were unable to provide any tasting notes as it was leaving them speechless. There were only 179 bottles originally available and by the time I was online there were 34 left, by the official launch day the entire cask had been sold. It's for this reason I am torn between two evils - this is undoubtedly going to be a fantastic investment for a whisky collector in future with so few bottles available and such good reviews, yet the other side of me knows this is going to be the most amazing oral experience if it is opened and drunk.

A few of my twitter friends are possibly joining me for a dram on Thursday night at the society, if they happen to have a bottle open then I may just treat myself to a dram so I can experience the drink, if on the other hand there is none available I am left with a quandary of immense proportions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.