michigan man

By outdoorguy

A TD- Turtle Decision

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
and sorry I could not travel both.
And, be one traveler, long I stood,
and looked down one as far as I could...
to where it bent in the undergrowth.

I shall be telling this with a sigh,
somewhere ages and ages hence.
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
and that has made all the difference.

1st and last verses...The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

On my hot a.m. walk today...I saw a hit-by-a-car squirrel that had been dead a couple of days. The flies and the smells were not pretty. I also saw a squashed turtle. I could only tell it was a turtle because there was a little shell left.

The picture of this turtle is a close-up. If you could pan it out...you would see that the turtle is poised on the side of a city curb.

I think it is trying to make a decision. "Should I cross the street? I've heard there was a good-sized pond over there." OR, "Should I stay on this side of the street in my large, comfortable pond?"

I think the poem by Frost implies that we should jump off the curb, look both ways, and take a chance on crossing the street. The road less traveled.

The turtle did not take the road less traveled. He retreated acrooss the grass, across the sidewalk, under the wood fence, and returned to "his" pond. I think it was a good choice. Turtles are too slow, and drivers do not pay attention.

I've been to the grave of Robert Frost several times. The grave is set high on a hill in Bennington, Vermont. The setting is very "New-Englandy." A lovely white church with a white fence. An old and new mix of headstones, and green everywhere. A take-your-breath-away kind of scene.

There are little signs that direct you to Frosts grave. On his headstone is this saying..."I had a lovers quarrel with the world." I don't know what that means, but I still like some of his poetry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.