Contort yourself - James White and the Blacks

A lazy day around the house today.

I have to apologise for todays video as it's rubbish but unfortunately it was the only good recording of Today's track on youtube. In actual fact it's not the same version I have on my machine as a couple of versions of it were released. It was done by a guy called James Chance who released two different versions as James Chance and the
Contortions then as James White and the Blacks. Apparently he was quoted somewhere as saying something like he started recording to kick against the conformity of bands like Talking Heads and Television. While I'm fans of both bands he does manage to make them sound pretty conformist.

He's one of many artists who I'm only aware of through Keith from Optimo. I know Keith was lucky enough to be asked to do a cover version of it for the first of a series of EPs when Ze records started up again. the idea was Ze would commision contemporary musicians to do covers of their favourite Ze tracks.

I've uploaded yesterdays blip now too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.