TeeJay

By TeeJay

On guard

Today I had a meeting in Nelson so I headed up for 9 am only when I got there I found out it didn't start til 9.30 - I really should read my email more closely. To fill in the time I took a drive down to the estuary in the hope of getting a decent photo of a seagull or oystercatcher.

Both obliged me, but I was also excited to find a family of kingfishers feeding on crabs on the mudflats. It's the first time I've seen kingfishers there. I didn't get any terribly good photos of them, but was pleased to get any at all. These two were keeping guard on this runabout - I think their job was to warn the others when the crazy lady with the camera paid too much attention to them.

This photo is dedicated to kiwilizzie as they are her all time favourite bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.