hello again

By admirer

WOMAN IN COSTUME OF MARKEN IN THE IJSSELMEER

A trip to Amsterdam, I went with Cor to the harbour where his new (old) boat (type Leisure) bobs in the water. We drank coffee on it, sitting in the sun, looking at the enormous clouds and at the waterbirds (not so many) and viewing the Ijsselmeer.
From there we walked to Durgerdam, the houses of the village along the dike.
Drove to Uitdam, where a friend lives, she is however at the moment in France, and from there to Marken. The former island Marken is now connected since 1957 with the mainland by a long dike. The people used to live from fishing, when the Ijsselmeer still was the Zuiderzee. Now it is a loved touristic destination, this afternoon rather quiet.
We saw the touristshop of Sijtje Boes, the woman who owned it, died in 2008, but as a child we went there with our family and I received a gift of a doll wearing the costume. Cor stated that Sijtje Boes in his opinion was situated in Volendam and I said well perhaps we went then to Volendam, Seeing the shop, however, memory came mistly back and looking for it this morning I found that Marken was the place indeed. Spoken of stubborn persons!
At the west the sky was all blue, east and south dark clouds, a strong wind, but not cold. We walked along the wooden houses, some very small. In the church I made pictures of the woman in the blip, she posed with charm. She wears the costume of the island, not seen daily in Marken now, but I think at festivities and ceremonies like mariage and all the elder women wear it and the men a black trouser, wide from above, small at the calf.
Back to Amsterdam, and for me the train to The Hague. I looked with pleasure at my photos and selected this one, my journal was erased by myself accidently and later again by blip, in the morning it is also easier to write the third version. Hurrah.
I will answer the lovely and sweet comments on my swan with the same enthousiasm as they came to me. And then the new day starts again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.