Supermarket Trip

It's not often that a fox walks across in front of you on the way to the supermarket but one did this morning as I headed up the valley side on to the moor. Although I fumbled for my camera on my back I just knew I wouldn't have the right lens, setting on etc and sure enough as I was still faffing about it caught sight of me and took off.

Tony is still away bagging his last Munros (25 of them) in Scotland which is something he promised himself he would do once he retired, and three years on he has finally found the time to do it. I have had intermittent reports from such far flung places as Knoydart and Glen Etive when he's had a signal or wandered into civilisation (barbaric place Scotland! Oo wait for the responses to that!) There is a recent report of a sighting of him near Tyndrum so he's steadily moving south and apparently he's had good clear summits between the showers so that will make up for the many times he has been marooned in his tent during horizontal rain. His plan is to finish with Ben Lomond and it's just a pity I'm working or it would have been good fun to join him on that one, fingers crossed the weather holds out.

Anyway I decided to walk over the moor and down to the supermarket in the next valley and I was able to say hello to Mr S working in his beautiful garden at the edge of Badger Wood at the top of our road (so called by our girls when they were small and we came across a baby badger, dead unfortunately). Mr S opens his garden for a local charity once a year and I particularly like it because it sort of merges into the woodland. Next I met a very well dressed older lady coming out of the wood which was incongruous. She told me her husband had died two years ago and it was their wedding anniversary today so she had been up into the part of the wood where they had scattered his ashes to plant some freesias, which were his favourite flowers (and mine too). Further up the path (before the sighting of the fox) I stopped for a chat about our favourite parts of Scotland with a neighbour walking his dog, so all in all it was a very pleasant start to my supermarket trip, and on the way back the taxi driver and I set the world to rights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.