Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

The Singers Voice

I got up just after 7 and have spent all day so far reading (and writing an assignment) about the physics and anatomy of how we sing. I don't think I have every learned so much that I wasn't even aware of in one day. For instance I had no idea that as a Tenor, I have to pronounce some vowels differently at high pitches so that they sound correct (or because the fundamental frequency is higher than the first formant, as they put it !!!). Once you start to study it, its hard to believe we can talk or sing at all, its so complicated but somehow we can do it without a second thought.

My head is spinning and its wet out so its an indoor blip to celebrate getting to the end of that block of work. Much of it involved recording myself singing and running it through spectograms to look at the amplitude and pitch so I have blipped an SM58 microphone (for the voice) with a piano (for the pitch) in the background.

Ok its obscure but after 9 hours I have no brain left !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.