Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

St Ives at its best

Its been yet another full day with work then a particularly difficult Sax lesson. I hadn't managed to blip anything by 6-30 when I had to leave to attend the St Ives Lifeboat Guild AGM and bingo, there was the harbour looking lovely in the low sunlight.

The Lifeboat Guild in St Ives is a historic group, mostly ladies in their (how do I put this nicely) "Later Years". Most of them have family links with the lifeboat going back years or in some cases generations. The small group of ladies staff the RNLI shop, run lifeboat day in August and have a number of coffee mornings and alike. Last year doing this they managed to raise a staggering £77,700.

How do I know this ?, well in a moment of weakness 5 years ago I said I would act as treasurer for them, I was told it was only for a year or 2 and only took about an hour a month. Both where untrue and I think I have the job for life now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.