Chaos and Calm

By KatKatzenjammer

Life's Mannequins

I figured it was a good way to start a blipfoto journal on a day that was neither good, nor bad, but that resulted in a photo I am very proud of.

It was a public holiday, I was home by myself, with nothing to do (not even cleaning needed doing), nobody was answering their phone or responding to text messages, and it was one of Melbourne's (in)famous bitter cold winter days.
Fantastic. Nothing to do at home. Nobody to catch up with. Too damn cold to do anything outside.

Boredom and frustration took their toll, and I eventually braved the 13 degrees (with a windchill factor of 8 degrees) to go out and do what I do... Take photos.
I've been on a photographic hiatus since March because of some pretty gruesome surgery on my right shoulder that has left my surgeon and his evil minions posse and my physical terrorist physiotherapist suggesting demanding I don't do any photography, music, lifting my arm above my head... Basically, I'm not meant to do anything fun, or necessary.
But the last few days I've been naughty and getting back into the photography, and have been very happy with the results. And I have been using my sketch mannequins as my models.

Today's photo was my favourite from the 'shoot' I did with them today at one of the nearby parks. It's so serene, relaxed, and warm looking... Behind the camera was an entirely different story.
I chose this photo because we are life's mannequins. Life shapes us. Molds us. And we just have to roll with it. We can protest all we like (my mannequins certainly do), but where does it get us?

Let life do what it will. You never know, something beautiful might happen.

"So we drink in bars and try our best,
But these mannequins are too well dressed,
And I don't think that I can fake another year without it."
~ Mannequins - Josh Pyke

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.