Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The Cabinet of Jurisprudence in the window of The

... the end of the title should read "... in the window of the Seven Stars"


Sounds like the name of a novel instead of a descriptive phrase doesn't it.

I did a portrait this morning at The Association of Surgeons in Lincoln's Inn Fields this morning. The building I shot in contains the very wonderful Huntarian Museum, which is a collection of medical specimens, from skulls to thing in jars.

I asked if I could take my portrait there, but sadly not even if the subject in the Chief Executive.

I went to the Seven Stars for lunch. It is one of the few buildings to survive the fire of 1666 and has odd little clues such as a stained glass sign saying "foreign wines" for sale above the bar. The best club sandwich in the world. To descibe it in words wouldn't do it justice!

The display in the window is by Belgian surrealist artist Marcel Marien. When the artist was 17, he broke his spectacle and asked his optician to make it into one lens (an example seen on the goat skull). The new artwork he named "L'introuvable" (the unfindable).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.