Shuttered

Popped into the new cafe in Durrus for a cup of coffee on my way home. A friend saw me and came in for a chat. The conversation went like this:
Me: Hi, how are you?
Friend: Grand, I'm just off to Murphy and o Connors to get some nails, then I'm going to see Doctor Aine as I have a tick on my fanny.
The conversation dissolved into hilarity and comments which could not be recorded here! This is very West Cork - it's a hazardous place to live. The friend by the way is in her mid 70s. I'm sure it made Doctor Aine's day!!

Well here I am again - it's starting to feel like home! These old shutters are in the posh room. They've been painted in a woodgrain effect - there's a special name for this but I can't remember what it is. The fireplace surround has gone but the ornate grate remains. There are the remains of what was once a rather smart circular table and a carriage lamp. It's hard to date a house like this - it could be anything from the 1850s to the 1950s, but it must have been comfortable and the family quite well off.

Bright and breezy day with some amazing clouds rolling in from the north west. Lots of rain in the night so my tramp through the field was very wet. Hope there weren't any ticks :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.