a town called E.

By Eej

"Meet me ...


... at the railroad tracks?" I asked the Beloved on the phone when I was finally done at work. It almost felt like I was planning a secret rendez-vous which is just silly as I'd be secretly rendez-vous'ing my husband and besides; all I really wanted was walk the tracks for a bit.

As I was chasing dragonflies that didn't want to sit still long enough, the Beloved found a snake who also did not want his portrait taken.
So we moseyed on.
And I saw these daisies growing in the middle of the tracks and they seemed so cheery and oblivious of adversity and fearless and so full of hope that I found them endearing.

And then we moseyed back home where he got a call he could start a new job as soon as he could get there. So I made him sandwiches and he went on his merry way. Yay!

Maybe I'll be able to sleep well tonight :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.