earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Wharfedale Evening

Best viewed in large

Yet again it seems that this summer is being rationed out to us bit by bit. After a rather indifferent day the clouds once again cleared away this evening to bring some beautiful light, albeit penetrating a fairly cool breeze.

Not the greatest of days at the office so I hoped to clear my head with a good ride with the cycling club. I can report that the pace is indeed getting quicker still and it turned out to be a more than steady ride out. It was decidedly brisk, so much so that my legs had pretty much gone at the top of the climb out of Skyreholme. After our only regrouping stop I made the foolish mistake of going on to find a spot to get a picture of the group riding past. I got my shot, but I never managed to catch them back up! I won't be doing that again.

It did at least give me the opportunity to take my time and collect some less rushed pictures. I had a good many to choose from but I rather liked this one as characterising what turned out to be a beautiful evening. It was good to experience the peace and quiet here after the effort of riding flat out at well over 20mph in the group. You don't really see too much more than the back wheel of the guy in front! Contrasts are good. I may have to start admitting that I'm becoming more of a photographer than a cyclist. I'm more motivated by capturing a good blip for the day than by training hard. This could be a slippery slope to a place I'm not sure I'm ready to go yet! Or I could just go with the B Group next week.

Again, the late return and having to deal with cooking food and catching up with last night's "Apprentice" with the boys has left me no time for browsing. I look forward to catching up over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.