horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Stripy

It's the weekend. Phew.

Yip, that's about all to say on the day. Oh, except for fat man in a Porsche... Ah, the joys of driver psychology.

Filtering past a queue of cars, seeing the way ahead blocked, and the lights about to turn green I stop just ahead of a red Porker 911 Carrera. Red means it's faster. Except when in a queue. Fat, be-suited, middle-aged driver clearly takes exception to having spent so much on a car and have a bike overtaking him, floors it as the traffic starts to move. Of course I'm keeping pace (indeed have to brake) with the car in front, so he sits alongside, and gradually moves left.

Thing is, I know he's not going to risk scratching that car, so I hold my line. Plus there are railings coming up that I'd rather not be crushed against. He sits around 6 inches to my right, slightly overlapping, unable to overtake because of traffic to his right. Pointless anyway, I'm still the same distance behind the car in front which has slowed to let another car in who was in the wrong lane.

Then the gap opens. All of ten yards of it. The exhaust pops and crackles as he hammers it, swings left, and looks in his mirror with an angry glance. I breezily check behind, see a gap to the next car and move to the right side of the Porker. Why? Well I'm turning right ahead, in the clear lane, he's turning left, with another queue ahead...

I sit up, turn and smile as I pass him.

The psychology is funny. Partly I've spent a fortune on this car, I'm not letting a pleb on a bike ahead of me, and partly This is a fast car, and I'll prove it by overtaking a bike. Small appendages make fat chaps in fast cars do funny things.

The staying calm and smiley in the face of pointless moronic stupidity method of dealing with things is to be highly recommended...

p.s. promise I'll start replying to some comments soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.