A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

Baghdad, 5 March 2007.

LARGE

As The Guardian put it:

"A piece by Turner prize winner Jeremy Deller entitled Baghdad, 5 March 2007 has just gone on display................It features a car damaged in the bombing of the historic Mutanabbi Street book market, which resulted in the deaths of 38 people."

Lunchtime: walked through the rain to the Imperial War Museum North to check out the exhibition War Correspondent: reporting under fire since 1914 (read about it HERE.)

Nowhere near enough time to stay, so a mental note to head back when I have more time, and then I popped into the main exhibition room where the subject of this photo was on display.

It was very sobering to be able to see it up close, and then to take a walk round it....which is why I've not messed with the photo at all, it's blipped as I took it.

Another photo of it HERE on flickr.

On the way out, picked up a flyer for a talk by "man in white suit" Martin Bell next week called "The Death of News" and managed to get a ticket despite the best efforts of the Imperial War Museum and The Lowry Theatre to annoy me. (They managed to annoy me, but not enough to stop me getting the ticket.)

At least while I was at The Lowry Theatre getting a ticket and getting more and more annoyed, I was reminded that they will soon have an exhibition of authentic Andy Warhol stuff.

Shall have to make sure I see it.

And tonight I watched "Senna" at the cinema. Brilliant.

Oh, I went to work as well. But let's not dwell on that.
All in all, not a bad day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.