Nell's World

By nell2803

Lodger

Well I think we may have just got ourselves some lodgers.

For the last few days I have noticed that there has been a little bird flying about each time I pass the front door. This morning as I opened the door this little guy got such a fright and landed on the ground just in front of me. It looked a bit shocked. I closed over the door and got my camera, as you do.

By the time I opened the door it had gone. Not to be put off I lingered for a little while and it returned with some bugs in it's mouth. It went into the shrubs just under the window. It quickly came out again but wasn't too happy to see me still there so stayed around the area. This allowed me to get quite a few shots of it. I was only about 2 metres from it which is quite uncomfortable for me (bird phobia).

Looking at the book we have I think it is a Warbler, possibly a Wood Warbler. It is very small.

It reminded me of an incident a couple of weeks ago. Coming back from the farmer's market I unlocked the door and went into the house first. Hubby followed carrying the crate of fruit and veg. I heard him make a noise and thought he had nearly dropped the produce. Turns out that when I opened the door a swallow flew in behind me, realised it was inside, turned and flew out again narrowly missing him. Thank goodness I was oblivious to that. Would have probably frightened the poor thing by screaming, or worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.