Winter Rose

Pressed against the window glass,
I look upon the wild garden.
The autumn sun illuminates the flowers,
As they stand tall and beautiful.
But amongst the shrubbery I catch a glimpse of a bud,
still curled up and hiding away from the world.
The season passes and winter arrives,
Bringing with it the shimmering rain.
The garden becomes a golden wonderland,
And the subtle season colours flood in.
Once more I gaze upon the garden,
And it is then I finally notice.
Out amongst the shrubbery,
No longer cowers a bud.
Instead a radiant flower stands proud,
The deepest shade of red.
For it is now a single winter rose,
A late bloomer.
When the garden was thriving,
It hid away, too afraid to emerge.
It was so small and delicate,
But all it needed was a little time.
Time was given,
And the bud became beautiful.

~ Rebecca Rose ~

We had winter sun today. It lit the garden and danced with the gentle breeze, it warmed my back as I strolled round, with a cuppa in my hand. Not many flowers but many shades of green and different tones of brown. Fantails flitted from tree to tree with their little tails capturing the light. This is the last red rose in my garden, the outside petals looking tired and brown but the inside still radiant especially after our evening rain.

The weekend is here and the sun is starting to set - it was lovely to see the sun today. Enjoy your weekend :)

Backblip Peony Leaf :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.