The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Young robin

My Dad's back garden isn't the most interesting, it has to be said. Apart from a couple of Petunias, there is literally nothing in flower. There is a family of young robins, though. Every time I went out one of them would appear, one of the adults has lost its tail. I guess the parents won't tolerate these young ones around for much longer, certainly not when they develop their red breast feathers, and they will have to leave to find a territory of their own.

I visited Dad again in hospital. It looks now as if he will be in beyond the weekend. The tests are narrowing down what the problem is, he is having a course of treatment and if he responds then he will be able to go home. However, it will take a few days before the medics can be sure it is working. I have decided though to head back home later on Saturday, then maybe come back in a week or so's time when hopefully he will be back home.

Before my visit I had a walk around the Test Marshes Nature Reserve, and added two new species to the year list: green sandpiper and cetti's warbler. That takes the year list on to 137.

I treated myself to fish and chips for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.