NK's Journal

By nishantkaradia

God & it's non-existence

As stated in my backblip, the discussion about non-existence of God between me and my friend started with a chat.

When I say 'God', it's nothing but just another word to us.


In the night I pinged Krish on G-Talk

me: God??
:)

Krish: ahahahaha
yea yea..
it's pending man... just working on something.. will call u soon

me: sure sure
charging my phone
:)

Krish: sure sure
;)
Aunty (my mom) won't let me inside the house if she comes to know what we are discussing
:)

me: arey nah, they know i m a crazy fellow...i already told ur uncle (my dad) about it :)

Krish: ahahaha. I am glad he didn't kick you off

me: not at all... he also wants to get involved :O

Krish: LOLLLLL
thats hilarious

me: i said no ways
yea

Krish: WHY ????

me: face to face discussion will be better with him not at phone

Krish: true.

me: yea

Krish: will call u @ 10:00 IST is that ok

me: perfectly fine... meantime i'll upload Blip

Krish: yea :)



After some time



me: plan got delayed by 15 mins

Krish: oopss
sure

me: Blip writing is gonna take time

Krish: first thing first ;)

me: i will ping you for calling.... will go to a walk in park also
:)

Krish: sure.. sure..good idea
don't just provoke religious folks with ur atheist talks.. they may get aggressive.
My mom doesn't want to believe her son doesn?t believe in God. I don't blame her

me: i never do that.... if someone is ready for healthy discussions i am ON. I always make ppl clear that I don't want imposing of thoughts at but sharing them logically

Krish: You think so because you are at other end.. problem is "thought of not believing God" itself is unacceptable to folks @ other end.

me: correct



We discussed about a crazy guy who is screwing himself badly for some reason
(Please excuse me, some private talks here)



me: yaar only he can help himself no one else

Krish: totally agree
and he's not ready to help himself.. & looking for help outside

me: that's the problem
i am not able to concentrate on Blip story
the very fact of discussion is making me excited

Krish: ahahahha..

me: Blip and story can wait

Krish: I can feel that

me: yea
so let's do it

Krish: yea 19mins over already

me: It will take me 10 mins to reach outside
call me on 12th minute

Krish: I'll call @ 10:30pm IST

me: cool deal
it's 10:15 now

Krish: 10:20 exactly

me: i will be offine now
call me after 15 mins

Krish: yep

me: cool
c u on phone

Krish: can't promise if it would be too productive
but we'll kick it off

me: let's initiate it....

Krish: will come on track as we travel.

me: yup
O&O

Krish: O & O


The discussion lasted for about 2 hours and was quite healthy and productive. We were able to logically inference the answers of some bullet points below.


Why I became an Atheist
My parents never insisted me going to temples and daily or regularly worship God but on special occasions they made me the part of gathering and I was put in front of God to worship on Indian festivals (Eg. Diwali).

I was very small kid then. I used to shy away a lot from praying. I don't know the reason then why I used to shy. My mom used to say to me to bow in front of God and I used to say her that you and all other ppl look somewhere else then only I will take a bow. They used to look somewhere else and I quickly used to take a bow and get up making sure no one is seeing me doing that. I didn't use to do it on my own but only coz my mom used to say me.

When I grew up a little bit (still a child) and was put in front of God to worship on occasions my shyness converted into hesitation. I was hesitant to worship God. My mom used to say to worship God and I used to say I won't do that. I was pretty much uncomfortable in front of God.

These questions always popped up in my mind:
Why do people worship God?
Why do they believe in God?
Why God cannot be seen?
Will something bad happen if God is not worshiped?
Who we (human beings) are?
Where did we come from?
Why do we exist?
Did God create us?
What if we were not there?

I used to think deeply about these questions and ask myself that who we are and where did we come from. What would have happened if we were not there.

I don't believe in anything which can't be inferenced logically and practically. I can't believe in anything which had never been seen.

As a child, one day with due respect I was whole heartidly praying to God. I felt like I was talking to myself.
On that day I understood God is just a myth, a fallacy.
It's not at all there in reality but created by people and only exists in people's mind and it won't be possible for me to believe on something which has never been seen and whichh cannot be logically and practically inferenced.
I became Atheist.
I made this thing clear to my parents one day that I don't believe in God as I feel hesitant. When I worship, I feel pretty much uncomfortable.
Down the line they understood that I am one crazy guy and will do whatever I want to do no matter what, so they stopped dragging me into God mania.

A very popular quotation.
'They say God created us, I say we created God'




Theory of how God could have emerged

Let's say few people existed on the Earth very long ago and God didn't exist at all that time (in the mind of ppl).
One person was not having everything going well at work and family (May not be getting success in work / his wife was not well). He was very disturbed. While walking on road to work makes a wish to get things back on track, in few days he gets what he wished for. Since he takes same route to the work & keeps thinking (wishing) about things not going well with him as and when something doesn't go well with him. He started to believe that this is a lucky route (may be a certain point he noticed where he wished for most of things in his bad times). His belief gets stronger that if he asked for anything at this place, his wish will be fulfilled. He marked that place and told his friends and other people about it. Other ppl also started coming to that place to make a wish. Let's say out of 10 person's, wish of 3 got fulfilled. (Not Everyone's wish get fulfilled even by visiting Temples, Mosque, Church etc.) They started believing that there is something about this place that if they come to this place and pray to someone, their wish will be fulfilled.
Those special places need to be well developed architecturally. Those places became temples / mosques / church etc. And certain symbols, stones, structures became representation of lucky charm . You can't say a stone a stone, a mud piece wrapped with clothes as mud, a iron structure as iron. So those things were developed beautifully by ppl and was named God.

So that way God might had emerged. Now let's say the first holy place was made at a particular location. How do ppl living far away residing in other area, state make a wish. They have to travel and go to that particular place to do the same. They thought that there could not be only one place where they can make a wish. They built the same architecture in their area and put a stone, iron structure or whatever you can think of to make a wish. Coincidentally, some of their wishes were also fulfilled which led to the so called fact that God is present everywhere. That way, temples, church and mosques would had spread across areas.

Whats so special in holy places, People Go, Pray, Donate money (offerings) [BRIBE to God] and finally for all their offerings they DEMAND a wish. Rule of Probability says Things can either go Better or Worsen. If things go Better people will come back with bigger bribe next time to get their much bigger greed fulfilled, if it goes Worse they'll still come back with MUCH bigger bribe, because they don't have anywhere else to go [They actually don't have faith in themselves], Ask for Forgiveness if anything went wrong last time because of which their wish didn't get fulfilled, and Lure the God to full-fill their wish this time.




Why God is a myth
According to a common belief, there are over 330 million facets of Gods & Goddesses in India.
In a sense India is God-intoxicated, there is God everywhere, in all things: within/without, above/below, in the six degrees of separation and in the three planes of existence.
There are Gods for vegetation, Gods for weather, Gods for nature, Gods for geographical areas, Gods for villages, Gods for the house, Gods in the temples, Gods in running water, Gods in deepest forest and in icy mountain heights. There is no situation, environment and place that the Indian does not have a God for. Gods inspire, Gods infuse art and creativity and Gods provoke destruction too. Gods in heaven are many, for the heavens also are many with contending claims as to which is the supreme heaven. Even hell has a God presiding , the God of justice and death, in a pretty astute psychological characterization about the typical fears of the afterlife.

A simple question - When there are so many Gods and Goddess in India and God is everywhere, why are they not worshiped by people outside India?
How come those Gods are bounded by Indian Territory which is made by people?
If they are such big shots, why haven't anyone seen them. Why don't they become visible, come and take away all of our pain?

Why are there so many facets of God?
Does heaven and hell really exists?
There are talks about soul in human body. Where does that soul goes after death? If it exists why it can't be seen?

People say that God can only be felt and not seen;
Like air can only be felt but can't be seen, Like you can't see an Atom. That doesn't mean Air or Atom don't exists. So how can you say God doesn't exist ?
hmmmm good point...
Okiez. Does it mean Air / Atom is God... NOPE All will support my this statement.
Existence of Air / Atom can be well proven, Air is not felt by only 1 of two folks. Why God is experienced only by few ? We can produce Air (using Blower). Though we don't see it we can still prove its existence. Atom theory proves the existence of Atom at the core of an element. If God can be seen by someone why is it that can't be proven by any means.

Human emotions: Hatred, Love and Jealousy can be felt but can't be seen. Can we say any of these is God? I mean seeing is believing not always true, but then how would you believe which is totally non-existent for everyone but still everyone wants to believe it's existence.

People also say that don't ask questions, just follow God blindly.
I'd add here God exists only because no one is allowed to question him, You question the God and there is no God.

According to Bhagavad Gita (Holy Book of India), it is said that - 'Just do your work honestly and everything will fall into place.'
What kind of contradiction is this? People say follow God blindly and Krishna says don't follow me just do your work. When the Holy book says so then why do people still worship God. Why?

When God is every where why do you need specific places (temples, mosques, church, gurudwara's etc.) to keep on remembering him. People say that they need special places to forget everything and remember God. Gathering of same mindset of people results in meditation and solace and they feel one step closer to God. Why do you have to go to those places? Why can't you go to a park and worship where birds are chirping, trees are waiving. Why can't you go near a river where river is flowing swiftly? Why only those special places?




Why do people believe in God
People believe in God coz they are told from childhood to believe in God. Why? Their generations and ancestors have believed in God so they should also do it. Why? You don't have to ask questions you just have to follow.

Did I said follow?
Yes, so people don;t believe in God, they follow God blindly.
Why?
Coz their generations have followed it and God is there to take care of all the things.

A mind of child is very innocent and can be moulded in whatever direction you want to mould. If you say Jesus then he will start believing in Jesus. If you say Allah then he will start believing in Allah. Rama then Rama. If nothing, then nothing. A mind of child always get's developed according to his surroundings.

So people blindly follow God coz they are moulded that way from childhood.
Why they follow?
They don't have a logical answer.



Why people don't want to believe that God does not exists
People always want to make their life better and better. Pains and sufferings should go away and happiness should remain. It's born tendency of a human being to remember the good times and forget the bad times.
So there needs to be someone who can be blamed for the pain and sufferings and cherished for the good times.

If something good happens - Thank God
If something bad happens - Oh my God

When something good happens why do you have to go to a holy place and worship God and ask for more happiness.
Why do you want your pains to go away?
Coz if pains go away God is gone and vanished as people will always be happy and people won't have anyone to ask for their happiness in their pains.

Why don't ppl go to God and ask for pain for themselves? Why ppl always ask to God for good things and the betterment. If you won't have pains how could you know the taste of happiness?
When asked to some ppl - No Answer.
Coz no one wants sufferings, sins etc. in their life. All want happiness around themselves.

People are not ready to believe that things go right and wrong according to the effort they put. They always blindly believe that God is controlling them all.
I would say that sheer fact of believing on God is to loose faith on yourself as another imaginary entity is always given the credit and blame.
You did good work, the credit should go to you. You goofed up something, the blame should be made on you.
Why to put everything on another so called God. Why?



Common Man as God
People always find that persons with extraordinary capabilities have something special in them and they start worshiping him and consider him God. One such example is Rama who went to jungle and stayed their for 14 years coz his father wanted him to spend 14 years in jungle. People thought that he did something extra-ordinary by obeying his father so he was treated specially in his time, time passed no other person did better than him so he was stepped up from a normal human being to a Superior human spirit and then as a God.
What? He was a common man. He had a family and kids. how can he be considered as God? Why do you you have to go to Rama and worship him.

Same was the case with Jesus, Krishna, Sai Baba, Guru Nanak Dev, Muhammad.



Every man is so called God, God inside a man can?t be seen until he touches to certain extraordinary heights / shows some greater skills. If every man has potential to become a God we are all God (Osho said: [Tu hai Bhagyawaan, Tu Hi Bhagwaan {You are a God, if You have a Good Heart}]) .


*Bonus read, Questions which Atheist always ask - Click to open


Please note that I and Krish did a healthy discussion and came up with the above theory and conclusions. Our intention is not to hurt anybody. It's just the way we think. People ON for healthy discussions and sharing their thoughts are always welcomed.
With due respect, ppl who believe in God, please keep your faith firm.


Many thanks to Krish for helping me out to prepare this write-up.


** Overall a good day. Visited some friends and came back late in night. Weather in the city was good today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.