Bad luck

On my head be it.
Putting up 4 umbrellas in my living room.
Silly girl.
But after going to James' induction evening, going out for tea, coming home and working for 3 hours, desperation struck at around 11.30pm, so it was all I had to give you.
I purchased 4 white umbrellas as a backup for just in case it rains whenever I do a wedding shoot.
They will come in useful as reflectors as well!

An unexpected evening in some respects. We went to James' new school to purchase uniform, talk to form tutor and buy other bits and bobs ready for September.
When we walked in, a senior member of staff said hello, and I walked past, then did a double take. I went back, had a sneaky peak at his name badge and then realised it was someone I spent two years of my life with at university when we did our teaching degree.

"You don't remember me do you?" I said to him
In typical style, apparently nothing changes, his quip was "I don't owe you money do i?"
Slipped straight back into comfortable conversation, somehow managing to catch up on 15 years in the space of 5 minutes.
He told James that we went to uni together and said to James
"Your mum got me through it by letting me copy all of her work!" James looked at him a little quizzically, and he said "No really, it's true".
It kind of is - we worked together a lot, along with another guy.
It appears that he has been working 5 minutes away from our house, for the last 8 years! Bizarre.

We found a blazer to fit James. Uniform will be ready to collect at the end of July. All my money is gone!

Then for tea at the local pub/restaurant. James played whilst we sat and chatted to two other former acquaintances - the Dad of one of James' friends from when he was younger (Harry). Sadly, Harry moved away about 4 years ago. He is doing well apparently, and with serendipitous timing, Harry rang his Dad whilst we were there, so James got to speak to him and they have re-established contact.

Home, 3 hours spreadsheeting, late blip, later to bed, but feeling pretty chilled after a productive day and a small victory when managing a difficult youngster.

Night night
x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.