maryanneb

By maryanneb

Headed out to the Big Day Out, first taste of live music this year. Was disappointed when I read the back of the ticket and condition of entry no.3 stated "Professional cameras of any kind are not allowed on site without authority from the Promoters." Guess that pretty much meant no SLR's (even though mine is far from 'professional') although I probably could've smuggled it in somehow but I've had to take it back to my car at other gigs and it's always a decent hike, so anyway point and shoot will do.

We got there around 3pm, in time to see My Chemical Romance, yeah yeah I know emo and all that crap. Surprisingly though, not many 'emo' characters around, seems as though the stereotype is dying out a little. I'd seen MCR before as support for Green Day and wasn't very impressed. Thought they may have grown a little as I think their new album is pretty decent but much the same unfortunately.

Next up a little bit of Kasabian before heading over to see John Butler Trio. They were awesome, such a great positive vibe and their joy and enthusiasm to play music is very obvious within their stage presence. Plus their dedication to the environment and getting the message out there is something I admire about them.

Missed The Killers as we were getting hungry at that point and we're going to see their solo show this week anyway. Another highlight of the show were Muse, who I've only recently got into and after seeing them live, I like them even more so. Tool were the final headline act and definitely attracted the biggest crowd and deservedly so. Technically brilliant. Loud is probably what first comes to mind though. In between a bit of Tool, watched The Violent Femmes and between their songs you could hear Tool very clearly. Was interesting going between the two that's for sure.

Only real disappoint for the day for me was all the rubbish thrown on the ground especially when bins weren't all that far away. And one thing that stuck with me was a line from one of John Butler Trio's new songs, 'Life's not about what's missing.'
So true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.